The Other Reality

An Excerpt

Posted in Not Completely Random by aryckman on March 17, 2009

Doubt, Screenplay by John Patrick Shanley

Last year, when President Kennedy was assassinated, who among us did not experience the most profound disorientation? Despair? Which way? What now? What do I say to my kids? What do I tell myself? It was a time of people sitting together, bound together by a common feeling of hopelessness. But think of that! Your BOND with your fellow being was your Despair. It was a public experience. It was awful, but we were in it together. How much worse is it then for the lone man, the lone woman, stricken by a private calamity? ‘No one knows I’m sick.’ ‘No one knows I’ve lost my last real friend.’ ‘No one knows I’ve done something wrong.’ Imagine the isolation. Now you see the world as through a window. On one side of the glass: happy, untroubled people, and on the other side: you.

-Father Flynn

Leave a Reply

